News & Events
— November 5, 2017

Europlanet Webinar: Impact cratering – the most important geological process in our Solar System with Dr Anna Losiak 28 November 2017, 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET Impact cratering is currently the most important geological process in our Solar System and (most probably) on most of exoplanets. It is modifying planetary surfaces by creating gigantic scars on its surface, and […]


— October 27, 2017

Europlanet webinar: “Chasing the devil – what do dust devils on Earth tell us about Mars?” with Dr Jan Raack, Open University 31 October 2017, 14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET Hosted by NUCLIO, Europlanet’s October 2017 webinar will discuss how Dr Jan Raack chased dust devils on Earth to understand Mars. When it comes to planetary science, […]


— October 27, 2017

Europlanet 2020 RI / Open University Press Release  **EMBARGOED until Friday 27 October 2017, 10:00 BST (09:00 UTC) ** Levitation key to long-debated mystery of how recent and present-day martian landscapes form Scientists from The Open University (OU) have discovered a process that could explain the long-debated mystery of how recent and present-day surface features on Mars […]


— October 20, 2017

PhysisArt – Photography of Danakil Exhibition The Danakil Depression – an extreme landscape between volcanoes and salty deserts – is the subject of a new photographic exhibition with images and works by the artist, Samantha Tistoni, who accompanied Europlanet researchers for a field trip to Danakil in January 2017. Dr. Barbara Cavalazzi, a researcher at […]


— October 4, 2017

Monitoring microbes to keep Marsonauts healthy To guarantee a safe environment for astronauts on long-duration space missions such as a journey to Mars, it is important to monitor how microorganisms such as bacteria adapt to the confined conditions onboard spacecraft, according to a study published in the open access journal Microbiome. Dr Petra Schwendner, University […]